The basic PARADOX project is an experiment aiming at the topology/topography of design foundations. Do we discover the terrain, or do we develop the terrain. Or do we design it?

A selection of more or less known people from the field (German and international) were invited to submit contributions regarding these questions. See the exposé.

Some rules were set in order to structure and orientate the process. Also to avoid real or imaginary problems of superiority/dominance or inferiority as experienced e.g. in the DRS or PhD lists.


The state of affairs
> invited: 51 people (no reply: 8, negative reply: 10, positive reply: 33)

> texts delivered: 27 (see below)

> texts not (yet) delivered: 6

Phase 1 of the project, submission of texts, is almost finished. German texts will be translated to English as soon as possible.

Please don´t hesitate to open phase 2: associations and feedback.



Involved People

Christopher W.J. Alexander
- no reply

Dirk Baecker - negative reply

Norbert Bolz - negative reply

Gui Bonsiepe - negative reply

Holger van den Boom - text delivered (translated) h.vdboom@hbk-bs.de

Uta Brandes - negative reply brandes@be-design.info

Dick Buchanan - positive / indistinct reply (???) buchanan+@andrew.cmu.edu

Rosan Chow - text delivered rwchow@ualberta.ca

Nigel Cross - negative reply

Clive Dilnot - positive reply CDilnot@Artic.edu

Dennis Doordan - positive reply Dennis.Doordan.1@nd.edu

Özlem and Alpay Er - negative reply alpayer@itu.edu.tr

Michael Erlhoff - text delivered brandes@be-design.info

Alain Findeli - negative reply

Heinz von Foerster - no reply

Ken Friedman - text delivered ken.friedman@bi.no

Ranulph Glanville - text delivered ranulph@glanville.co.uk

Matthias Götz - text delivered goetz@burg-halle.de

Siegfried Gronert - positive reply siegfried.gronert@gestaltung.uni-weimar.de

Gülay Hasdogan - text delivered hasdogan@arch.metu.edu.tr

John Heskett - negative reply

John Christopher Jones - text delivered jcj@softopia.demon.co.uk

Fatma Korkut - text delivered korkut@arch.metu.edu.tr

Pekka Korvenmaa - no reply

Klaus Krippendorff - negative reply kkrippendorff@asc.upenn.edu

Maren Lehmann - text delivered (translated) lehmann@wiwi.uni-halle.de

Franz Liebl - text delivered franzl@uni-wh.de

Uwe von Loh - text delivered (translated) uvl@htg1.de

Terence Love - text delivered tlove@love.com.au

Victor Margolin - text delivered victor@uic.edu

Siegfried Maser - text delivered (translated) maser@uni-wuppertal.de

Peter McGrory - no reply

Jan Meyer - Veden - text delivered janmeyerveden@freenet.de

C. Thomas Mitchell - text delivered mitchelc@indiana.edu

Mihai Nadin - text delivered (translated) nadin@wkm.kunst.uni-wuppertal.de

Harold Nelson - text delivered nelsongroup@worldnet.att.net

Horst Oehlke - text delivered oehlke@d17.de

Chuck Owen - negative reply

Silvia Pizzocaro - positive reply silvia.pizzocaro@polimi.it

Wolf Reuter - text delivered Wolf.Reuter@iwe.uni-stuttgart.de

Hans (Nick) Roericht - negative / indistinct reply (???)

Keith Russell - text delivered (translated) Keith.Russell@newcastle.edu.au

Daniel Scheidgen - text delivered (translated) info@hyperlinked.de

Jean Schneider - text delivered jschneid@WANADOO.FR

Herbert A. Simon - no reply (H.S. died 9.2.2001)

Erik Spiekermann - positive reply

Hermann Sturm - text delivered (translated) hermann.sturm@uni-essen.de

Necdet Teymur - no reply

Jan Verwijnen - no reply

Susann Vihma - text delivered svihma@uiah.fi

Artemis Yagou - text delivered yagou@pobox.com

June 23, 2018





  ENTRY  
  INTRO